I am constantly intrigued by new things and figuring out how things work.  Luckily for me, I’ve been working in a career field that is constantly changing and providing me new frustrations — I mean, opportunities — to figure out how new things work.

Much like the cobbler’s children going barefoot, my personal web sites haven’t been updated in so long that they might be considered for inclusion in the Smithsonian.  I’m making an effort to change that.  Not promising how long I’ll keep this one up.

At any rate, the quick intro to me is that I was born in 1960 in La Marque, Texas, which is the last little arm-pit of a town before you hit Galveston Island in the Gulf of Mexico.  I grew up with one older sister and two pretty awesome parents.  Growing up we didn’t have a ton of money but our family managed to bargain-travel to every state in the continental United States as well as Canada and Mexico, by camping and car travel.  I still love to get in the car and head out to somewhere else to see things.

I have lived in Dallas since 1980 — sort of just stopped off here after graduating from Austin College in Sherman, Texas, and never managed to move away.  Dallas has its pluses and minuses, but in the plus category, I have a lot of really awesome friends here, plus extended family, and it’s a great central location for the rest of the country.

I have a daughter, Olivia, who was born in 2008, and the reason life is worth living many days.  She’s a spectacular awesome kid, funny and smart and kind, and I’m proud to be her mom.